Beth Ann's

decorative cakes cookies

1st Birthday Cake March 21, 2010

Filed under: Custom Cakes,Kids Birthday Cakes — bethannray @ 2:16 pm

This cake was for a 1st birthday and was designed off of the birthday invitations.  It was an 8″ and 6″ tiered white and chocolate cake with butter cream icing and fed approx 30 people.  It was covered and decorated with marshmallow fondant and had a jumbo cupcake topper for the birthday boy.   The jumbo cupcake was chocolate with a fondant cupcake liner and butter cream icing.  The “1” and balloons were made from gumpaste to add character to the design of the cake.

 

6 Responses to “1st Birthday Cake”

  1. Sara Phillips Says:

    I am a friend of your sister-in-law Kristen. She gave me your link b/c I have been getting into doing cakes over the last couple years. Your cakes are GREAT!! This one struck me b/c I am making a 1st birthday cake this week for my son named Griffin.

    • bethannray Says:

      I am so glad you like it! If you ever have any cake questions feel free to email me or fb me on my fan page. If you subscribe to this blog, you’ll get an email when I post a new picture and I always post pictures on my fb page as well, Beth Ann’s. Good luck with all your cakes:)
      (You can subscribe to this blog and join my fb page by clicking those options on the right hand side of this page)

  2. Amber Says:

    How did you make the jumbo cupcake?
    Thank you!!

    • bethannray Says:

      I made the liner out of fondant/gumpaste and molded it in a large cupcake pan and I pinched the sides to give it the liner look while it’s still soft in the pan, then pop it out of the pan the next morning. Then just put a regular size cupcake inside and the top of a second cupcake to give it height. Then add lots of butter cream icing:)

  3. Amber Says:

    Ah. I see. Great! Thanks.
    One more question – how about the balloons?
    Thank you!!

    • bethannray Says:

      Those were made from fondant and just molded by hand with a sucker stick in each one. After sitting out to dry for about 24 hours you should be able to place them in the cake. Good luck:)


Leave a comment