Beth Ann's

decorative cakes cookies

Grave Digger Monster Truck Cake March 20, 2010

Filed under: Custom Cakes,Kids Birthday Cakes — bethannray @ 9:13 pm

This cake was for a little boy’s birthday and was such a big hit with the kids!  It was a chocolate cake with butter cream icing and fed about 40 people.  It was decorated with marshmallow fondant and the wheels were made of rice krispie treats covered in fondant.

 

2 Responses to “Grave Digger Monster Truck Cake”

  1. Jen Kuhn Says:

    I am also a friend of Kristen Burdette’s. Is this a double layer cake? I am trying to envision it without frosting! Awesome cakes!! I just made my first spiderman cake and think that this hobby can become addicting!!

  2. bethannray Says:

    I am so glad you liked it! Kristen must really be pushing my blog:) I just wish it didn’t cost so much to ship cakes so I could make Avery’s and Graysen’s birthday cakes. Anyway, this cake is a triple layer chocolate cake ( I think I used a sheet cake and then cut it in thirds and stacked them) with a 7″ square cake cut in half on top to form the cab on the truck. Then I carved it to look like a monster truck and covered it in butter cream and fondant. I will say though, that if you attempt to make this cake the hardest past is figuring out the platform to set the cake on so it looks like its supported by the wheels. My husband ended up making the support for me…good thing he’s an engineer!

    Good luck on your cakes and email me or fb me if you have anymore questions. Please subscribe to this blog to get emails when I post new pictures and also to my fb fan page. You can do both of those by choosing those options on the right hand side of this page.


Leave a Reply

